Milverton, Somerset
15/07/2024

Recreation Ground matters for July and August

Within the last month, the Recreation Ground has fallen victim to vandalism and two accounts of arson.

A sofa and a picnic bench have been set alight at the skate ramp which required the assistance of the Fire Brigade, also, a number of chairs and tables have been vandalised or removed from the Pavilion terrace. The culprits are known to the Trustees and their images have been captured on CCTV. The Police are also aware and we are asking all members of the public to be vigilant when at, or near the Recreation Ground as this cannot be tolerated. As we experience ever drier periods, the risk of fire spreading quickly and causing even greater damage is a real threat.

Rounders fun afternoon

Join us for an afternoon of fun rounders on Sunday 9 July from 2pm. Form your own team of 9 or just turn up and teams will be created – over 16s only. Fully licensed bar open for drinks and snacks.

Enquires email thepavilionmcc@gmail.com or call on 07595 483090 or 07540 613874

July opening times

  • Saturday 1 July from 1pm. Cricket match is Huish v Roadwater start at 2pm
  • Wednesday 5 July from 4pm
  • Friday 7 July from 4pm
  • Saturday 8 July from 1pm. Cricket match is Hush v Wiveliscombe start at 2pm
  • Sunday 9 July from 1pm. Rounders afternoon
  • Wednesday 12 July from 4pm
  • Friday 14 July from 4pm
  • Wednesday 19 July from 4pm
  • Friday 21 July from 4pm
  • Saturday 22 July from 1pm. Cricket match is Hush v Stoodleogh start at 2pm
  • Wednesday 26 July from 4pm. Cricket match is Milverton v Lydeard St Lawrence start at 6pm
  • Friday 28 July from 4pm
  • Saturday 29 July from 1pm. Cricket match is Hush v Crowcombe start at 2pm

August opening times

  • Wednesday 2 August from 4pm
  • Friday 4 August from 4pm
  • Sunday 6 august from 1pm. Cricket match is Milverton v Wombats start from 2pm
  • Wednesday 9 August from 4pm
  • Friday 11 August from 4pm
  • Saturday 12 August from 4pm. Cricket match is Hush v Fitzhead start from 2pm
  • Wednesday 16 August from 4pm. Cricket match is Milverton v Stoodleigh start from 6pm
  • Friday 18 August from 4pm
  • Wednesday 23 August from 4pm
  • Friday 25 August from 4pm
  • Saturday 26 August from 1pm. Cricket match is Hush v East Huntspill start from 2pm
  • Wednesday 30 August from 4pm

Enquires email thepavilionmcc@gmail.com or call on 07595 483090 or 07540 613874

Recreation Ground matters in June

This year sees the 100th Anniversary of the grand opening of the Milverton Recreation Ground on Whit-Tuesday afternoon 1923. The Taunton and Western Courier Newspaper covered the event, reporting that ‘through the efforts of Colonel Blunt and a large Committee of the townspeople of Milverton, they are now the proud possessors of a large and valuable public recreation ground.

Colonel Blunt presided over the event as the MP for the division, Mr Hope-Simpson, was delayed in London. Having opened the event, Colonel Blunt went on to explain that the cost of the ground was £400, of which £345 had been raised by public subscriptions’. A framed list of subscribers can be found hanging on the wall in the Pavilion Bar. The Trustees intend to produce a full copy of the newspaper article to be displayed next to the list of subscribers. Thanks to Maggie Dinning for finding the article.

Work on the Toilet block renovation continues, with the roof, internal and external decorations now complete.

Cricket fixtures

This Cricket Season there are two teams playing their home matches at the Recreational Ground. Ian Pincombe Captains the Milverton side who are playing non-league matches on selected Wednesdays and Sundays.

Oliver Buckingham Captains the Huish team who play in the West Somerset Cricket League and host their home matches on Saturdays. Huish took the decision to make Milverton Recreational Ground their home last season. All players are local and are playing a huge part in the maintenance of our delightful grounds. If anyone, male or female over 14 years is interested in joining either of teams, please email thepavilionmcc@gmail.com or message on
07595 483090

Home matches

Saturday 27 May  
Huish v Crowcombe
2pm start – bar open from 1pm
 
Saturday 3 June            
Huish v Ashbrittle
2pm start – bar open from 1pm
 
Saturday 17 June              
Huish v Timberscombe
2pm start – bar open from 1pm
 

Opening times

May:

  • Saturday 27 May from 3pm
  • Wednesday 31 May from 4pm

June:

  • Saturday 3 June from 1pm
  • Wednesday 7 June from 4pm
  • Friday 9 June from 4pm
  • Friday 16 June from 4pm
  • Saturday 17 June from 1pm
  • Wednesday 21 June from 1pm
  • Friday 23 June from 4pm
  • Friday 30 June from 3pm

Enquires email at thepavilionmcc@gmail.com or call on 07595 483090 or 07540 613874